Banner: about

Board of Directors

Board of Directors


Tom Y. Lee, CPA joined our Board on October 24, 2014, and was appointed Chairman of the Board on January 30, 2019. Mr. Lee is currently the Chairman and CEO of Swabplus, Inc., a contract manufacturer of single-dose applicator and formulation OEM products, and has served as Chairman and CEO since 2008. Mr. Lee has experience in manufacturing and selling applicator and formulation OEM products, manufacturing and distributing products in Asia and is experienced in accounting matters. Mr. Lee was formerly audit committee chairman at First Continental Bank (which merged with United Commercial Bank in 2003). Mr. Lee has been an active CPA since 1983 and earned his Master of Science in accounting from California State University Long Beach and his Bachelors in Business Administration from TamKang University in Taipei, Taiwan.

Mr. Lee’s qualifications to serve as a director on our Board include his experience in manufacturing and selling applicator and formulation OEM products, his experience with manufacturing and distributing products in Asia and his accounting background and expertise as a CPA. The Board also considered Mr. Lee’s commitment to the Company and its technology platform based on his investments.

Henry R. Lambert joined our Board and was appointed as our Chief Executive Officer on September 10, 2013. Mr. Lambert is an accomplished food industry and consumer products executive with broad management skills, including strategic planning and business development, go-to-market execution, business integration and food safety. He has over 35 years of food industry experience, having worked at such notable companies as Heublein Inc.; RJ Reynolds; Nabisco, Inc.; and, Pinnacle Foods. He has held various business unit leadership positions servicing the foodservice and leading consumer food brands markets. Mr. Lambert has also served on boards and as a member of various food industry associations, including the International Foodservice Manufacturers Association (IFMA), Institute of Food Technologists and Safe Supply of Affordable Food Everywhere (SSAFE). From 2010 through June 2013, Mr. Lambert served as general manager of the global food and water business of Underwriter Laboratories, where he was responsible for the start-up of the company’s food safety services business. From 2007 to 2010, Mr. Lambert served as Senior Vice President of Business Development, and then President, of Arrowstream Transportation, Inc., a provider of innovative supply chain management solutions to the foodservice industry whose key customers included Wendy’s, Applebee’s, Arby’s, TGIF, Sysco, and DMA. Prior to 2007, Mr. Lambert held executive positions with a number of high profile companies in the foodservice industry. Mr. Lambert earned his MBA in Finance from the University of Chicago, Booth School of Business, and his BA in Economics (with Honors) from Union College, Schenectady, N.Y.

Mr. Lambert’s qualifications to serve as a director on our Board include his service as the Company’s Chief Executive Officer, his 35 years of experience in the food industry, his executive leadership experience and his service on the boards of a number of food industry associations.

Dale Okuno was appointed to our Board on January 30, 2019. Mr. Okuno is Chief Executive Officer of Okuno Associates, Inc. an investment firm that focuses investments in technology companies. Prior to founding Okuno Associates, Mr. Okuno was founder and Chief Executive Officer of E-Z Data, Inc., a SaaS company, which he sold in 2009, a company that he founded in 1986. Mr. Okuno holds a BA in Philosophy and Psychology from San Jose State University.  

Ivan Chen was appointed to our Board on June 28, 2018. Mr. Chen brings extensive experience in the healthcare and technology industries, with deep legal and strategic business experience in areas including licensing, joint ventures, mergers & acquisitions, securities and corporate governance. His experience includes serving as Director, Mergers & Acquisitions at eBay Inc., a publicly-traded e-commerce platform. In this role, Chen led the negotiation and execution of numerous US and cross-border transactions. Prior to eBay, he was an associate at Morrison & Foerster LLP and at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, both large international law firms. In these roles, Chen focused on transactional, securities and corporate governance matters. He is admitted to the bar in California and New York.

Mr. Chen earned a J.D. from Harvard Law School, a master’s degree from the University of Cambridge, and a bachelor’s degree from Northwestern University.

Food Safety Advisory Board

Janet Risi was appointed to our Food Safety Advisory Board on January 30, 2019. Ms. Risi is the President and CEO of Independent Purchasing Cooperative, Inc. in Miami, Florida. In 1996, Ms. Risi founded IPC, a supply chain management organization that supplies all goods and services to the international fast food giant, SUBWAY. IPC has become the gold standard for supply chain management companies in the foodservice segment. IPC manages in excess of $5 billion annually covering food, packaging, equipment supplies, distribution and marketing management and technology implementation. Ms. Risi and IPC have delivered over $2 billion in savings to the SUBWAY franchisee community while increasing quality and food safety standards. Prior to IPC, Ms. Risi started her career with Ralston Purina Company as a commodities buyer. Ms. Risi has also worked with food leaders such as Jack in the Box, Chef America, Inno-Pacific Group and Burger King. Ms. Risi graduated from DePauw University with a major in English and a minor in business. Ms. Risi serves on the Board of Directors for Coral Gables Trust Bank and The Florida House.

Ms. Risi’s qualifications to serve as a director on our Board include her executive leadership and experience in the food, supply chain and food safety industries.

Elisabeth Hagen, M.D.
 was appointed to our Food Safety Advisory Board on January 30, 2019.  Dr. Hagen is the former Under Secretary for Food Safety at USDA, the highest ranking food safety official in the United States. She was responsible for the policies and programs that ensured the safety of the commercial meat, poultry, and processed egg products supply for the United States, and played a key role in the overall Administration-wide approach to food safety policy and regulation. Prior to her appointment as Under Secretary in August 2010, she served as USDA’s Chief Medical Officer, advising on a range of issues such as food safety, nutrition, and zoonotic diseases. Prior to serving in the USDA, Dr. Hagen was a physician with infectious disease practices.

Currently, Dr. Hagen is a leading food safety consultant advising food companies, investors, and non-profits on food safety strategy, food trends, regulatory issues, and crisis management. Dr. Hagen serves as a member of Advisory Boards for Yum! Brands, Chipotle, and Tyson Foods. Dr. Hagen has an M.D. from Harvard Medical School and a Bachelor of Science from Saint Joseph’s University.

Dr. Hagen’s qualifications to serve as a director on our Board include her experience and leadership as the nation’s highest ranking food safety official at USDA, and her consulting experience and Advisory Board memberships in the food safety industry.